8th April, 2003
Ministry of Home Affairs  



The Lok Sabha was informed that there have been border disputes mostly out of claims and counter claims between Bihar-Uttar Pradesh; Haryana-Uttar Pradesh; Maharashtra-Karnataka-Kerala; Orissa-Andhra Pradesh; Orissa Jharkhand; Orissa-Chhattisgarh; Orissa-West Bengal; Punjab-Haryana; Uttaranchal-Himachal Pradesh; Assam-Meghalaya; Assam-Arunachal Pradesh and Assam-Nagaland.

The Central Government have made efforts from time to time to resolve the border disputes involving various states, though essentially it is for the concerned State Governments to resolve their differences through discussions and mutual accommodation. With a view to resolve the border dispute between Bihar and Uttar Pradesh, the Bihar-Uttar Pradesh (Alteration of Boundaries) Act, 1968 was enacted. The Haryana-Uttar Pradesh (Alteration of Boundaries) Act, 1979 was enacted in order to settle the border dispute between Haryana and Uttar Pradesh. The Central Government had constituted the Mahajan Commission in October 1966 to resolve the Maharashtra-Karnataka-Kerala boundary dispute. Three Commissions have so far been appointed to determine the areas of Punjab that should go to Haryana in lieu of Chandigarh. The Central Government got a study conducted on the boundary dispute between Assam and Nagaland in 1976 and constituted the Shastri Commisssion to deal with the dispute between the two States. Similarly, a Tripartite Committee was constituted by the Central Government to deal with the border dispute between Assam and Arunachal Pradesh.

Giving this information in the Lok Sabha in a written reply today the Minister of State for Home, Shri I.D. Swami said the Government have not constituted any Committee to resolve these disputes.