PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

PRESS COMMUNIQUE

The President of India, on the advice of the Prime
Minister, has accepted the resignation of Shri R. Venkataraman
from the Council of Ministers and has directed that -

- 1. Shri S.B. Chavan, Minister without Portfolio, to be Minister of Defence.
- Shri P.C. Sethi, Minister of Planning, will also temporarily be incharge of the Ministry of Irrigation.
- 3. Shri Harinath Mishra, Minister of State of the Ministry of Rural Development, to be Minister of State in the Ministry of Irrigation.
- 4. Smt. Mohsina Kidwai, Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, to be Minister of State of the Ministry of Rural Development.
- 5. Shri R.N. Mirdha, Minister of State in the Ministry of Irrigation, to be Minister of State in the Ministry of External Affairs.

Rashtrapti Bhavan, New Delhi Sravana 11, 1906, August 2, 1984

SGL/rsn

29/1(2/8)19-30 ASS.