PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

PRESS COMMUNIQUE

The President of India, on the advice of the Prime Minister, has appointed the following persons to the Council of Ministers:

CABINET MINISTER

SHRI JAGANNATH KAUSHAL

Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs.

MINISTERS OF STATE

Shri Gargi Shankar Mishra

Shri A.A. Rahim

Minister of State in the Department of Coal in the Ministry of Energy.

Minister of State in the Ministry of Law, Justice and Company Affairs.

DEPUTY MINISTERS

Shri M.S. Sanjeevi Rao

Shri K.P. Singh Deo

Shri Janardhna Poojary

Shri Kalp Nath Rai

Shri Arif Mohammad Khan

Shri Giridhar Gomango

Shri Dharmavir

Deputy Minister in the Department of Electronics

Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Defence

Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Finance

Deputy Minister in the Department of Parliamentary Affairs

Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting

Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Supply and Rehabilitation

Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Labour

and has directed that the allocation of portfolios for the following Ministers will be:

Shri R. Venkataraman, Minister of Finance to be Minister of Defence

Shri P.C. Sethi, Minister of Petroleum, Chemicals and Fertilizers, to be Minister of Railways.

Shri Pranab Kumar Mukharjee, Ministerof Commerce and Steel & Mines, to be Minister of Finance.

Shri P. Shiv Shankar, Minister of Law, Justice and Company Affairs, to be Minister of Petroleum, Chemicals & Fertilizers.

Shri Kedar Pande, Minister of Railways, to be Minister of Irrigation.

Shri N.D. Tiwari, Minister of Industry, to be Minister of Industry and Steel & Mines.

Shri Shivraj V. Patil, Minister of State in the Ministry of Defence, to be Minister of State (independent charge) of the Ministry of Commerce.

Shri N.R. Laskar, Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, to be Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs.

Smt. Ram Dulari Sinha, Minister of State in the Ministry of Labour, to be Minister of State in the Ministries of Industry and Steel & Mines.

Shri Y. Makwana, Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs, to be Minister of State in the Ministry of Communications.

Shri S.R. Kesri, Minister of State in the Department of Parliamentary Affairs, to be Minister of State in the Ministry of Shipping and Transport.

Shri Khursheed Alam Khan, Minister of State in the Ministry of Commerce, to be Minister of State in the Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation.

Shri Bhagwat Jha Azad, Minister of State (independent charge) of the Ministry of Supply and Rehabilitation, to be Minister of State (independent charge) of the Ministry of Labour.

Shri Buta Singh, Minister of State in the Ministry of Shipping & Transport, to be Minister of State (independent charge) Ministry of Supply & Rehabilitation.

Shri P.A. Sangma, Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Industry, to be Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Commerce.

Shri Mohd. Usman Arif, Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Works & Housing, to be Deputy Minister in the Ministries of Agriculture and Civil Supplies.

Shri B.M. Mohanty, Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Civil Supplies, to be Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Works and Housing.

Shri P.K. Thungon, Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Supply & Rehabilitation, to be Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Education & Culture and Social Welfare.

Miss Kumud Joshi, Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Information & Broadcasting, to be Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.

The President of India has accepted under clause (2) of article 75 of the Constitution of India, the resignation of Shri Chandulal Chandrakar and Shri Maganbhai Barot from the Council of Ministers, and has also directed that Shri Mallikarjun will cease to hold the additional charge of Deputy Minister in the Ministries of Education & Culture and Social Welfare. He will continue to be Deputy Minister in the Department of Parliamentary Affairs and Ministry of Railways and that

Shri Charanjit Chanana, Minister of State in the Ministry of Industry will be Minister of State in the Ministries of Industry and Steel & Mines.

The President administered the oath of office and secrecy to all the new Ministers at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan today.

Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi.

January 15, 1982 Pausa 25, 1903

235/3 15/1182 (16-50)