FOR PUBLICATION/BROADCAST AFTER JANUARY 31, 1976

PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU (DEFENCE WING) GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

MEHRA RELINQUISHES CHIEFS OF STAFF COMMITTEE CHAIRMANSHIP

New Delhi, <u>Magha 11, 1897</u> January 31, 1976

Air Chief Marshal O.P. Mehra, Chief of the Air Staff, who retires from Service today, has handed over the chairmanship of the Chiefs of Staff Committee to Admiral S.N. Kohli, Chief of the Naval Staff.

Air Chief Marshal Mehra became a member of the Chiefs of Staff Committee on his appointment as Chief of Air Staff on January 15, 1973. When General G.G. Bewoor retired on January 1, 1975, Air Chief Marshal Mehra took over as Chairman of the Committee.

The Chiefs of Staff Committee came into being on August 15, 1947 on India getting Independence. General Sir Rob Lockhart was the first ^Chairman of the Committee. General K.M. Cariappa, on appointment as Chairman on October 14, 1951, was the first Indian Chairman of the Committee.

The Committee is the supreme professional body which advises the Minister of Defence and, through him, the Cabinet Committee on Political Affairs, on all military matters.

FOR PUBLICATION/BROADCAST AFTER JANUARY 31, 1976

RKM:RSB:JLS

868/1/30-1-76