PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU (DEPENCE WING) GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

NEW CHAIRMAN OF CHIEFS OF STAFF COMMITTEE

ADMIRAL CHATTERJI TAKES OVER

NEW DELHI: <u>Asadba 26, 1891</u> July 17, 1969

With Admiral A.K. Chatterji, Chief of the Naval Staff, having assumed the duties of Chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee, the first meeting of the Committee presided over by him was held here today. It was attended by General S.H.F.J. Manekshaw, Chief of the Army Staff, and Air Chief Marshal P.C. Lal, who took over as Chief of the Air Staff yesterday.

The former Chairman of the Committee was Air Chief Marshal Arjan Singh who retired on July 15. According to the constitution of the Committee, the Chiefs of Staff of the three Services are members of the Committee, which is presided over by a member who has been the longest on the Committee.

The Chiefs of Staff Committee was set up immediately after Independence, as a part of the higher defence organisation in India. The Chiefs of Staff are collectively professional military advisers to Government on important defence matters. The Committee is assisted by several sub-committees dealing with specific problems relating to planning, training and administrative matters.

The first Chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee was General Sir Rob Lokhart. He was succeeded by Air Marshal Sir Thomas Elmhirst, Admiral Sir Edward Parry, General K.M. Cariappa, Admiral Sir Mark Fizey, Air Marshal S. Mukorjee, General K.S. Thimayya, Vice-Admiral R.D. Katari, Air Marshal A.M. Engineer, Vice-Admiral B.S. Soman, General J.N. Chaudhuri, Air Chief Marshal Arjan Singh. Admiral Chatterji is the fifth Naval Chief to become Chairman of this Committee. RST:RNM:1535

2516