PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU(DEFENCE WING) GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

NEW CHAIRMAN OF JOINT CHIEFS OF STAFF COMMITTEE

New Delhi: Jyaistha 17, 1888
June 7, 1966

The Chief of the Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Arjan Singh will take over as the Chairman of Joint Chiefs of Staff Committee tomorrow, June 8, 1966 consequent on the retirement of General J.N. Chaudhuri. General Chaudhuri has been the Chairman since December 1965, after the former Naval Chief, Vice Admiral B.S. Soman retired.

The last Air Force Chairman of the Committee was Air Marshel A.M. Engineer who retired as Chicf of the Air Staff in July 1964.

The chairmanship is held by the Service Chief who is the serior-most by appointment.

NRB/MSS (525)

174/1