PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA

PRESS COMMUNIQUE

The President, on the advice of the Prime Minister, has appointed the following persons to be members of the Council of Ministers:

Cabinet Ministers

- 1. Shri Bhola Paswan Shastri
- 2. Shri K. Raghuramaiah.
- 3. Shri Dev Kanta Borooah
- 4. Shri 'L.N. Mishra

Ministers of State

- 1. Shri Mansinhji Bhasaheb Rana
- 2. Shri Surendra Pal Singh

Deputy Minister

- 1. Shri Arvind Netam
- 2. Shri Janaki Ballav Patnaik
- 3. Shri Pranab Kumar Mukherjee
- 4. Shri Ziaur Rahman Ansari
- 5. Shri Subodh Chandra Hansda
- 6. Shri Sukhdev Prasad
- 7. Shri Kondajji Basappa
- 8. Shri G. Venkat Swamy

The President has, under clause (2) of article 75 of the Constitution of India, accepted the resignation of Shri Baij Nath Kureel from the council of Ministers.

The following will be the allocation of portfolios:

Cabinet Ministers

1. Shrimati Indira Gandhi	Prime Minister, Minister of Atomic Energy, Minister of Electronics, Minister of Information and Broadcasting & Minister of Space
2. Shri Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed	Minister of Agriculture
3. Shri Y.B. Chavan	Minister of Finance
4. Shri Jagjivan Ram	Minister of Defence
5. Sardar Swaran Singh	Minister of External Affairs
6. Shri D.P. Dhar	Minister of Planning
7. Shri Umashankar Dikshit	Minister of Home Affaris
8. Shri H.R. Gokhale	Minister of Law and Justice and Company Affairs
9. Shri S. Mohan Kumaramangalam	Minister of Steel and Mines
10. Shri T.A. Pai	Minister of Heavy Industry
11.Shri Raj Bahadur	Minister of Shipping & Transport
12.Dr. Karan Singh	Minister of Tourism and Civil Aviati
13.Shri C. Subramaniam	Minister of Industrial Development and Science and Technology
14.Shri Bhola Paswan Shastri	Minister of Works and Housing
15.Shri K. Raghuramaiah	Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
16.Shri Dev Kanta Boro ah	Minister of Petroleum & Chemicals
17. Shri L.N. Mishra	Minister of Railways

Ministersof State in charge of Ministries/Departments

		Ministersof State in charge of	Ministries/Departments	
	1.	Shri H.N. Bahuguna	Minister of Communications	
	2.	Shri R.K. Khadilkar	Minister of Health & Family Planning	
Ĺ	3.	Prof. S. Nurul Hasan	Minister of Education, Social Welfare and Culture	
	140	Shri Shah Nawaz Khan	Minister of Supply	
	5	Shri Raghunath Reddy	Minister of Labour and Rehabilitation	
	6.	Prof. D.P. Chattopadhyaya	Minister of Commerce	
	7.	Dr. K.L. Rao	Minister of Irrigation and Power	
Ministers of State				
	1.	Shri Niti Raj Singh Chaudhary	Minister of State in the Ministry of Law, Justice and Company Affairs	
	2.	Shri D.R. Chavan	Minister of State in the Ministry of Law, Justice and Company Affairs	
	3.	Shri Mohan Dharia	Minister of State in the Ministry of Planning	
•	4.	Shri K.R. Ganesh	Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance	
	5.	Shri I.K. Gujral	Minister of State in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting	
	6.	Dr. (Smt.) Sarojini Mahishi	Minister of State in the Ministry of Tourism and Civil Aviation	
	7.	Shri Om Mehta	Minister of State in the Department of Parliamentary Affairs and in the Ministry of Works and Housing	
	8.	Shri R.N. Mirdha	Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs and in the Department of Personnel	
	9.	Shri K.C. Pant	Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs who will also assist the Prime Minister in parliamentary work relating to the Department of Atomic	
			Energy and Electronics, & Department of Space	
	10.	Shri Annasaheb P. Shinde	Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture	
	11.	Prof. Sher Singh	Minister of State in the Ministry of Agriculture	
	12.	Shri V.C. Shukla	Minister of State (Defence Production) in the Ministry of Defence	

-

13	. Shri Surendra Pal Singh	Minister of State in the Ministry of External Affairs
14	. Shri M.B. Rana	Minister of State in the Ministry o Shipping and Transport
	Deput	y Ministers
1.	Shri F.H. Mohsin	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Home Affairs
2.	Shri Bedabrata Barue	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Law, Justice and Company Affairs
3.	Shri A.C. George	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Commerce
4.	Prof. A.K. Kisku	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Health and Family Planning
5.	Shri Jagannath Pahadia	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Communications
6.	Shri Mohd. Shafi Qureshi	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Railways
7.	Shrimati Sushila Rohatgi	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Education and Social Welfare and in the Department/Culture / of
.8	Shri D.P. Yadav	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Education and Social Welfare and in the Department of Culture
9.	Shri B. Shankaranand	Deputy Minister in the Department of Parliamentary Affairs
10	• Shri Kedar Nath Singh	Deputy Minister in the Department of Parliamentary Affairs
11.	. Prof. Siddheshwar Prasad	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Heavy Industry
12.	. Shri Dalbir Singh	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Petroleum and Chemicals
13.	Shri Dharam Bir Sinha	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting
14.	Shri Balgovind Verma	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Irrigation and Power
15.	Shri Arvind Netam	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Finance
16.	Shri J.B. Patreik	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Defence
17.	Shri P.K. Mukharjee	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Industrial Development

18. Shri Z.R. Ansari	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Industrial Development
19. Shri Subodh Chandra Hansda	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Steel and Mines
20. Shri Sukhdev Prasad	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Steel and Mines
21. Shri Kondajji Basappa	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Health and Family Planning
22. Shri G. Venkat Swamy	Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Labour and Rehabilitation

Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi

Magh 15, 1894 February 4, 1973

117/5